One of the requirements of GSoC is that I give a weekly status report of my project, so here it goes:

What you did in the previous week?

My project has not seen much activity this week. However, prior to official coding starting I accomplished the following:

  • Got custom vertex, fragment and geometry shaders working in the viewport and BGE (GLSL mode only)
  • Allowed users to use either external files or Text datablocks for the shaders
  • Allowed users to specify the input and output types on geometry shaders

What you plan to do in the following week?

I’ll spend the next week on custom uniform values. This includes adding uniforms through the UI and using existing material data in shaders. This will probably take more than one week to complete, so I’ll get what I can done.

Describe any issues you are having that may require extra attention.

Right now I’ve been looking around trying to get a better understanding of how the generated shaders get data from the material. It looks like uniforms are named after the ID of GPUNodes. Something like “unf8” isn’t the best thing to put into a shader. So, I’ll need to figure out how to deal with this. I’ve been talking with Brecht to gain a better understanding of the system.

Let us know whether you feel that you are on schedule, ahead of schedule, or behind schedule. If you are behind schedule, please let us know what we can do together to get things back on track.

I feel like I might be slightly ahead of schedule. The work I did prior to official coding starting last Monday really helped.

