Status report time!

What did you do this week?

This week I cleaned up the code and added some comments. I also updated the docs to reflect the changes to KX_GameObject. I’ve added preliminary support for using layers with shape actions. Shape actions in general seem to still be a little weird with blending. I’m not entirely sure if it’s my code, or existing oddities, so I’ll need to run some more tests there. I’ve also fixed various bugs related to compatibility with older files (making sure they work the same). From what I can tell, most things are working the same, except my action actuator behaves a bit differently when it comes to pulses (my actuator only tries to play an action on a positive pulse while the old actuator kept trying to play an action from when it got a positive pulse until it got a negative pulse). I have also started a thread on Blenderartists to start getting some feedback, but I haven’t gotten a lot of responses.

What do you plan to do next week?

Next week I will work on optimizing animations. Animations in the BGE are fairly well known for being slow. Hopefully I can find some areas where I can speed things up. I’ll also continue to make my code more “trunk-worthy.”

Are there any problems that will require extra attention and what impact will they have on your proposed schedule?

There are currently no problems.

Are there any builds available?

One of the nice things about working with others in the same branch is that there is more interest for that branch, and you can find plenty of Pepper builds on Graphicall (Win32, Win64, Linux 32, Linux 64, and OS X 32):

http://graphicall.org/?keywords=pepper

Thank you to everyone providing builds!

Cheers,
Moguri

