Status report time!

What did you do this week?

This week I was (and still am) on vacation. This means I didn’t get a lot of GSoC done. I got external targets working for the Copy Transform constraint, and I fixed a crash with non-shape actions on objects with modifiers. I have looked into hardware skinning and, while they would most likely help, I don’t know if we want to be pushing more onto the GPU at the moment. We are currently severely under utilizing modern processors (multiple cores) since the BGE is single threaded. This also means that (when vsync is enabled) we have to wait on screen refreshes to continue running code. So, if more is done on the GPU and now we just barely miss a refresh, we have to wait until the next screen refresh. This leads to a lot of wasted time.

What do you plan to do next week?

I’ll be back home late on the 28th of July, which doesn’t leave me much time until the next report. However, I’ll continue to work on much the same stuff: cleaning, documenting, optimizing. I’ll talk with one of my mentors to see what to do about hardware skinning.

Are there any problems that will require extra attention and what impact will they have on your proposed schedule?

There are currently no problems.

Are there any builds available?

One of the nice things about working with others in the same branch is that there is more interest for that branch, and you can find plenty of Pepper builds on Graphicall.

Thank you to everyone providing builds!

Cheers,
Moguri

