It’s once again time for Google Summer of Code status reports.

What did you do this week?

This week I got started on asynchronous library loading. Here is the message from the commit log:

Adding the start to an async option for bge.logic.LibLoad(). The basic threading works, but there are still some issues that need to be addressed:
* Memory leaks when canceling a thread. I’ll try to fix these with more cleanup callbacks like the one used in async_convert().
* The user has no way of knowing when an asset has been loaded. I’m thinking some sort of Future object would work here.
* Only works for scenes. It will be simple to support Mesh and Action as well, but I want to do it in a such a way as to minimize code duplication.

I’ve also done some digging through the BGE tracker to get an idea of where we stand. Over the past week or so the bug tracker has gone from about 184 bugs to 179 bugs. One bug I actually fixed, the rest where just bug reports for issues that have since been fixed. I also fixed an animation bug, but I have yet to close the report since the user has found more issues (I’m tempted to just have the user make a new report for recording purposes).

What do you plan to do next week?
Next week I’d like to work more on library loading. This means addressing at least some of the issues mentioned in the log message and tackling some LibLoad bugs. I will also be adding more bugs to my task list.

Are there any problems that will require extra attention and what impact will they have on your proposed schedule?

I still have class for the next few weeks, so things will go a little slow until then.

Are there any builds available?

Nope, not yet.

Cheers,
Moguri

