What did you do this week?

This week I poked around at some more bugs. I fixed a “bug” where Preserve Volume on the actuator modifier wasn’t working in the game engine. I think I managed to close at least on other, but I am currently unable to access projects.blender.org to get exact numbers. I have also figured out the problem to [#31396]  “bge.logic.LibLoad fails to import text blocks.” However, there are still some memory leaking issues that I need to address before committing the fix; I hope to have this committed by tomorrow evening.

I also committed, to Swiss, a Cucumber patch from Daniel Stokes (Kupoman) to add VBO and multiple UV layers to the BGE. This will help to avoid potential merge issues later if Alexandr or Jason go playing in the BGE’s rasterizer code since the patch did some major refactoring of some parts of the rasterizer. Also, I worked off of the multiple UV layers code to start cleaning up the mesh conversion code. Here is my commit log message from the corresponding commit:

Changing the mesh converter to stop using BL_Material as a temporary place holder for rgb and uv data. This is the first step in getting rid of per face material conversions, which are taking up a lot of time.

What do you plan to do next week?
Next week Dalai said I should try to tackle some of the animation bugs, and I’d like to get at least a couple closed next week. Also, I would like to try and find time to try out some ideas for refactoring the mesh conversion to get rid of per face material conversions.

Are there any problems that will require extra attention and what impact will they have on your proposed schedule?

Things (mostly school) kept me more occupied this week than I would have liked. However, next week is the last week of instruction, so I should be able to really focus on GSoC after that.

Are there any builds available?

Nope, not yet.

Cheers,
Moguri